As of 2014, there is an official NCAA rule that the Division I men's basketball championship Final Four games must take place in Indianapolis, Indiana every five years. Cities can bid competitively for the honor of hosting this annual event, and because Indianapolis is the home of NCAA headquarters, it has a unique contractual agreement with the organization.

This rule has not always been in place, and as of 2014, Indianapolis had only hosted the Final Four six times. The NCAA guarantee that Indy will host the games every five years will help boost this record. Indianapolis is scheduled to host the Final Four in 2015 and again in 2021.