NFL wild card berths are the spots in postseason playoff games given to the top two teams in both the American and National Football Conferences that did not win a division title within their conference. The season's win-loss records for the teams determine which ones get the wild card berths. If eligible teams from the same conference have identical records, tiebreakers decide which one advances to postseason play.

In the first round of the playoffs, to determine which teams advance, the division winner seeded third plays the wild card team seeded sixth, and the fourth-seeded division winner plays the fifth-seeded wild card team in each of the two conferences. All rounds are single-elimination format. As of the end of the 2013 football season, 10 wild card teams have advanced to the Super Bowl, and six have won the title.