The Jacksonville Jaguars, Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, and Houston Texans are the four teams that have never been to a Super Bowl. The Browns and Lions won NFL championships as recently as 1964 and 1957, respectively, but that was before the Super Bowl era.

Cleveland made it to its league championship game three times, Detroit once and Jacksonville twice, all of them losses. Teams that have been to at least one Super Bowl but have failed to win include the Arizona Cardinals, Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, San Diego Chargers, Tennessee Titans, Cincinnati Bengals, Buffalo Bills and Minnesota Vikings.