Each team in a cricket match is composed of 11 players, with one designated as team captain. Both squads are also entitled to keep a reserve player known as a 12th man who may replace a player injured during play.

This substitute player may not bat, bowl, captain or wicket keep and may only act as a substitute fielder. The injured player may return to the field of play, known as the "ground," as soon as he is able to do so. Substitutions and other rules of the game are governed by the two field umpires, who may refer to a third umpire off of the field for video reviews.