The Tour de France is a bicycle race that started in 1903. Riders compete for 21 days, and the race route and distance vary from year to year. The 2014 race had a total distance of 3,664 kilometers (or 2,276 miles), and it started in England and ended in Paris.

There are six competitions running simultaneously during the race, each with its own winner: the general or individual classification, points classification, climber or mountains classification, best young rider, most combative rider and team classification. As the name suggests, the points classification is won based on the number of points, as is the mountain classification. The general, young rider and team classifications are won based on time. The most combative award is given to the rider that shows the most effort and best sporting spirit.