As of 2014, three individuals have won the NCAA Division I men's basketball tournament as student-athletes who then went on to coach winning teams. These men are Bob Knight, Joe B. Hall and Dean Smith..

Knight played on the 1960 NCAA champion Ohio State team before graduating and becoming a coach at Indiana University, where he led his team to an NCAA championship victory three times. Hall both played and later served as head coach for the University of Kentucky, while Smith won as a student player at the University of Kansas and as a coach at the University of North Carolina.