Columbus Day in the United States is the second Monday in October each year. Observation of Columbus Day on the second Monday in October was established in 1970.

Despite the fact that Columbus Day is a federal holiday, some states have opted to observe holidays recognizing Native American people instead of Columbus Day. For example, South Dakota observes Native American Day. Other federal holidays are New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, George Washington’s Birthday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.