As of August 2014, the chronological order of the "Kingdom Hearts" series is as follows: "Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep," "Kingdom Hearts," "Kingdom Hearts: 358/2," "Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories," "Kingdom Hearts II," "Kingdom Hearts: Coded," "Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance" and "Kingdom Hearts III."

The events of "358/2" and "Chain of Memories" happen at relatively the same time, while "Birth by Sleep" takes place years before the events of the first game to be released, "Kingdom Hearts," thus serving as a prequel. The overall story of the series can be difficult to understand unless the many spin-offs that followed are also played, but the general idea can still be grasped from any individual game.