Yale University is located in New Haven, Connecticut. Yale is a private research university. The school was founded in 1701 and is the third oldest U.S. institution of higher education.

Some key facts about Yale University include:

  • Motto: Lux et Veritas (Light and Truth)
  • Campus Size: 837 acres
  • Undergraduate: Yale College (over 65 programs and departments)
  • Graduate: School of Arts and Sciences
  • Professional: 13 schools, including medicine, drama, law, and public health
  • Color: Yale Blue
  • Mascot: Bulldog
  • Alma Mater: "Bright College Years"

Yale University is a member of the Ivy League Athletic Conference. The other Ivy League schools are Harvard University, Brown University, Cornell University, Columbia University, Princeton University, Dartmouth College, and The University of Pennsylvania.